Stanza Cinta Episode 1 Review (First Impressions)

When the reality is not much fun anymore, you are opted to go for something surreal to make your life alive back. Normal things to do for some people are like to look for new friends, new place to hang out or find a new job perhaps. But for me, I’d prefer to sit back in front of my outdated television or my pinky lappie and enjoy some dramas; the drama that could really make me believe again the bright side of this suckky life. It’s not that bad after all.

Malay dramas nowadays are blooming like flowers in the spring time. Some are might  just tooo beautiful to look at, but the smell just stinks! But some are really really wonderful to look at and the smell brings back the memory of happiness and joy and you wish you’re part of the drama. Yes, I’m talking about the drama. Duh.

I’m feeling too empty nowadays and the idea to write the reviews for local dramas popped up into my head. And I said, hey let’s start with “Stanza Cinta” since it is a new and anticipated by most Malay drama lovers!

When I first heard the title of the drama, I tried to make sense of it and then I came to understand it by means that love comes in orderly stanza by stanza. Just like in a love poem, it starts from the first stanza where the love gradually but romantically snowballs through step by step towards the last stanza of the poem. The development of the love story is the crucial part and that’s what I’m looking forward to from this drama.

Looks like this first episode doesn’t really do the justice for the whole episodes, it doesn’t wow me that much. I’m afraid I might drop this drama in the middle without feeling bothered to make it to the last stanza. Heh. I’ll try to make impossible to happen.

The only strength for me in this drama is of course, the leading man Aaron Aziz (that’s the main reason I chose to review this drama FYI). It turns out that my prediction is right. Aaron Aziz is playing the bad-boy-gone-good role. There’s a little part of me keeps telling that he looks a bit old for the role but nevermind, I would forgive him since he’s my longggg time crush. So any role he’s playing, I’ll be there for him. Boy, I’m putty in his hands. Grr.

So in  brief, this first episode shows about Amni Sofina (Nur Fathia) and her tomboy friend Auni (Chomell Fana) who go back to university (they chose UTM for the place setting) to complete their final semester in Architecture. Gosh, now I really miss my college life back then and the drama looks like to be camping around the campus for a while and will make me considering to go for my second degree! (not masters because life as a masters student is boring)

Where was I? Owh yeah Amni, she is a decent pious looking girl complete with conservative character. Her family background is still mysterious so far in this episode. But looks like she comes from a poor family because when she accidentally throws her small packet of bread onto the floor and her lecturer (apparently the Dean of the faculty too) sees it and asks is the bread for breakfast and she honestly answers that the bread is for lunch not breakfast and further explains that she doesn’t have enough money to buy the food from the cafe. Expensive, it is.

If I were to comment on Nur Fathia‘s acting this time, the remarks would be not really good but acceptable since she is still considered as a newbie in this industry. All I have to say about this, she is lacking in heartfelt delivery so far, a bit wooden I must say. I hope she’s improvising in the next next episodes. You know, what kills my appetite in watching any drama is of course the poor acting delivery.

Here comes Irfan (Aaron Aziz) who breaks up with her girlfriend upon seeing her flirting with an ahjusshi (‘old man’ in Korean, sorry I can’t ease my K-addiction no matter what drama I’m watching). From there, he vows not to date any ‘cheap’ girl anymore and then he sees Amni who happens to be his cousin’s friend and decides to woo her right away! That’s my man! But of course, things won’t be easy for him as Amni is playing very very hard to get but this inspires him more and more to get to know her a little better.

However, this whole thing turns out to be a bet between Irfan and his cousin where his cousin keeps insisting that Amni won’t fall for him and Irfan feels challenged that he is going to prove his cousin wrong. Ouch, I foresee Amni will find out about this bet thing later later later and leaves Irfan upon knowing it. How predictable is that? Let’s just wait in the next episodes.

Owh there’s this scene in the car, Irfan and his cousin (actually, I can’t remember his name) where Irfan keeps on whining that how much he hates it to be cheated this way by his ex-girlfriend. And comes this epic sentence by Irfan, “Muka handsome macam ni pon kena tipu!?” I rolled on the table laughing with addition of Irfan’s epic expression. You have to watch it and you will get this. *wipes tears*

The second leading man is introduced where Taufiq (Fizz Fairuz) is discussing with a woman who happens to be Irfan’s mother, about his up-coming charity concert. Apparently, Taufiq is a nasheed singer, which means he’s going to SING for this drama! Yes people, you heard it right! This is new for me to watch Fizz Fairuz sing, and I CAN’T WAIT for it to happen (and plus it must be nasheed song so I hope the director directs perfectly as possible for this one, not to see the obvious lip sync for example). This character also seems to be from the poor background.

The episode ends tragically with Taufiq’s father falls down indicating the complications he will endure in his life after this. How Taufiq will get connected with Amni and Irfan in flesh? We just have to keep watching to find out.

What else to comment? Erm, directing wise, so far it’s good. It captures appropriately all the good expressions and elements especially the zooming of emotions on each character. And the OST of the drama is ‘Kisah Hati’ by Alyah. It’s a jackpot as the song is a hit now on the radio and I love it. It brings the angsty feeling for the drama mood which I’m in. I love melodrama needless to say. Then, the wardrobe for the castings, I find it okay, suitable for every character. Irfan will be always looking all muscular with fitting shirts and jeans for casual and impeccable working attire for office (dayum, why does he always have to wear white shirt which melts me BIG TIME!). Meanwhile, as for Amni, she looks all innocent in baju kurung most of the time. Well, good for her. Other characters, I will point out if I ever find them appealing to my taste.

All in all, Aaron Aziz is definitely to die for! And with that said, I think I’m going to stick to this drama like elephant glue until the end. This means I’m ready to face with all kind of possible lacking situations (cliche, slapstick you name it) I will endure it all just for the sake of supporting my abang! 😀

This entry was posted in Malay Dramas, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

